It’s Thursday, and that means it’s time to see the next selection of free PC games from the Epic Games Store. Epic has revealed what to expect next week, and it’s – wait a minute. Friends, I have been writing a news story about the free Epic game once per week for well over a year now, and we have entered unprecedented times. The next free Epic title is a “mystery game”.

Yes, for the first time I can remember, the latest free Epic Games Store title is going to remain a mystery until it launches. It’ll still go live on May 14 at the usual time of 8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST, and you’ll be able to hit the promotion page, claim the game, and add it to your account forever. Probably. I don’t know, things are changing and I’m scared.

Epic’s been making a few changes to its rollout of free games, including the temporary requirement of two-factor authentication in order to claim the giveaways. The three-week window of enhanced security – and the mystery around this next launch – suggest that maybe next week’s game is going to be big. Or maybe Epic just wants to mess with us news writers.

Original source: https://www.pcgamesn.com/next-epic-free-game