In a ska-bound land.

David Wise’s work on the Donkey Kong Country series soundtracks is arguably some of the most iconic of the SNES era. The original set the tone, from the ‘Main Theme’ to ‘Aquatic Ambience’ to ‘Gan-Plank Galleon’. And because of Wise’s excellent work, we’ve all heard of ‘Stickerbush Symphony’ from Donkey Kong Country 2 and the drums from Dixie Kong’s Double Trouble!’s ‘Rockface Rumble’ are etched into our minds.

Now, there’s a brand new way you can celebrate the music of this brilliant series. The Holophonics, a ska punk band from Denton and Dallas, Texas, has released a new album as part of its MaSKArades series. Titled Donkey SKAng Country, the band has laid down the funk and rhythm to rearrange 21 iconic tracks from the three Super Nintendo titles.

Read the full article on

Original source: